jump to navigation

Are you a Mac or a PC? July 24, 2007

Posted by alasbarricadas in Uncategorized.
trackback

I have been working 10 years with Mac and 4 with PC and I suppose I have enough experience to say that Apple’s computers are simply the best I have ever tried.  Nevertheless, do you think people who prefer Mac are different to those who prefer PC’s? A new campaign launched by Apple is based on these stereotypes, if you want to see some of them just spend a little time in Apple’s website.

People get Apples tattooed but I have never seen Microsoft’s logo drawn on anybody’s skin… does this mean anything? Furthermore, people who use Mac won’t go back, they will not use PC’s again… it’s like Free Software. I supose it is the viral effect, if you use a Mac you’ll try to persuade your friends and family to use it too.

But let’s come back to stereotypes, as I have pasted a picture of the actors that appear in these advertisements. As you can see, PC Man is uglier, older, old-fashioned, wears glasses and is dressed in a dark suit (which includes a tie). Mac Man is… cool? He reminds me of Neo (Matrix character)… casual but smart, and quite attractive… isn’t he?

The stories that are told in these ad’s are also based on stereotypes. I recommend you two of them: “Out of the box” and “Viruses”. Have you ever heard that a PC takes a lot of time before it gets started? Have you ever seen a Mac Virus? In my opinion, those stereotypes are quite near to reality.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

